Butternut Squash Risotto

My delightful daughter decided to wake at 5am this morning,and then at 8am went back to sleep!We are exhausted,but with the early start I made some dinners for her for the week.

This recipe is actually taken from my “Annabel Karmel Top 100 Baby Purees“, though not a purée. I need to add here: I detest butternut squash!Love the taste,but peeling and chopping it makes me feel like I’ve been cutting down a tree!If anyone knows a quicker and easier way please let me know!

 

Butternut Squash Risotto

 

Ingredients

image

Prep 2 minutes (this could be slightly debated!!!)
Cook 25 minutes
Best for 9 months plus
Serves 4

50g onion, chopped
25g unsalted butter
110g basmati rice
450ml boiling water
150g butternut squash, peeled and chopped
225g ripe tomatoes, skinned, deseeded and chopped
50g Cheddar cheese, grated (I forgot this!)

 

image

 

Method

1.Saute the onion in half the butter until softened.
2.Stir in the rice until well coated.
image
3.Pour over the boiling water, cover pan with a lid and cook for 8 minutes over a high heat.
4.Stir in the butternut squash, reduce the heat and cook, covered, for about 12 minutes or until or the water had been absorbed.
image
5.Meanwhile, melt the remaining butter in a small saucepan, add the tomatoes and saute for 2-3 minutes,
6.Stir in the cheese until melted, then stir the tomato and cheese mixture into the cooked rice.

image

 

I then divide it out into potions and freeze.
image

T & A xxxx

Leave a Reply

