Family Friendly Chicken & Vegetable Soup From Weaning to Adults

I’ve been using my new Annabel Karmel book over the last few weeks,Quick & Easy Toddler Receipes.

image

See here for more details.

This is my third book in the Annabel Karmel cook book range.I was a bit disappointed when looking through it,as a lot of the receipes are very simple,such as boiling an egg,and many are really for children age 2/3 plus.

Last night I made the Chicken & Vegetable Soup for us all. I made double of all the quantities in the recipe,and added large pasta shells for us. For Amelia’s portion of soup I pureed half,poured it back into the pot & blended it together. I got roughly 10 portions for Amelia,which I put in the freezer, and a bowl for my husband and I. Really delicious with some crusty bread.
Chop & dice finely,your children will be more likely then to eat the vegetables rather than chunks.
I did not have celery,so substituted with a leek.

Creamy Chicken & Vegetable Soup

Ingredients

image

30g (1oz) butter
1 Large Onion finely chopped
100g (3 1/2 oz) carrots, diced
30g (1oz) plain flour
1 Litre (1 3/4 pints) chicken stock
50g (2oz) small pasta shells
75g (3oz) cooked chicken breast, diced
3 tbsp double cream
1 tbsp snipped chives

Finely  chop your vegetables to get  smaller kids to eat them.

Finely chop your vegetables to get smaller kids to eat them.

Method

* Heat the butter in a saucepan,fry the onion for 2 minutes.Add the carrots and celery (or leeks in my case), and fry for 5 minutes.

image

*Stir in the flour,mix in the stock,and then bring the soup to the boil. Cover and summer for 10 minutes until the vegtables are tender. If making larger quantities,cooking time may vary.

image

*Meanwhile, cook the pasta in a pan of water,according to instructions & drain.

*Add your cooked shredded chicken,double cream,pasta and chives to the soup and summer for 3 minutes.
Season to taste, hold back in the salt for children.

image

*Suitable for freezing

image

Leave a Reply

