Pregnancy & Baby Books

image

When I was pregnant I was a little overwhelmed by the amount of baby books on the market.I bought some books,pictured above, that I thought I would be interested in,rather than “the best reviewed”.To be honest I read about two of them in full,the rest I dipped in and out of over the 10 months I was pregnant and after Amelia was born.

image

The first book I wanted to share with you is my favourite, Your Baby Week by Week,by Simone Cave & Dr.Caroline Fertleman. I actually bought after Amelia was born,on recommendation from one of my NCT girls.
This is such a fantastic book,that I now also give it as part of a gift to friends when they have new babies. I forgot to put it in my “Gifts Ideas” post. This is a handbook that I just loved. It is the only book on the market giving a week by week guide of your baby’s development from birth to 6 months.It covers the basics – sleep, feeding, crying, washing, play and development – as well as being packed full of vital information and handy tips for checking a baby’s progress.It is written by two mums,Dr Caroline Fertleman is Consultant Paediatrician at the Whittington Hospital, London, and Simone Cave health editor at the Daily Mirror.I can high recommend this book, and for £9.99, it was probably the cheapest book and most useful one I bought.
For more information click here

image

The next thing is actually a Baby App, called “The Wonder Weeks”,also recommended by a friend.This app picks up from the a best selling book. Written by Hetty van de Rijt and Frans X. Plooij Both have studied in Educational Psychology, Physical Anthropology and Behavioral Biology. This app is a great quick oh to,when your baby is going through a fussy period.It
Shows when your baby makes a leap in his/her mental development
What your baby can understand & learn after this mental leap. What your baby can do after this leap.What you can do to help your baby.
Highly recommended again,the book is a more in-dept form of the app.

image

So we have all heard of the “Gina Babies”, that sleep,eat and develop as per the book,with persistent training. The Contented Baby, by Gina Ford., former maternity Nurse and bestselling author.All I’ll say is I admire the parents who have stuck to this book. I bought this book early in my pregnancy and started reading it chapter by chapter, I soon realised that this style of parenting was not for me. I have no will power, and if you start the “Gina way”, you need to continue. Maybe this is why I still have a one year old that wakes at night sometimes.
This book is all about routine,I breastfed on demand for 6.5 months,so really did not have much of a routine.I felt I would be forever clock watching if I went by the rules of this book,and was uncomfortable with letting Amelia cry for long periods of time.
In saying that,I would still recommend this book as you can take snippets and adapt it to your life. Maybe review online before purchasing to see if it is the style of parenting you would like to use.
For more information see here

image

I liked the look of this book The Yummy Mummy Survival Guide by Liz Fraser, however this was one of those books I dipped in and out of.Some good tips, not as glamorous as the title may lead you to believe. I think one thing I did take from this book is to take care of yourself after the birth.
See here for more information.

image

Most people will have heard of or seen this book What to Expect When
You’re Expecting by Eisenberg, Murkoff and Hathaway
, this book was turned into a hilarious movie, I’ve read a couple of chapters of this book. I think I was a bit overloaded with books,ante natal classes and advice by the time I got this book,but I still dipped into it from time to time. It is an in-dept month to month guide through pregnancy.Its pretty full on, so I would think that of you are to buy the book,it’s the only pregnancy book you will need.
To read more click here</a

image


What To Eat When You’re Pregnant by Dr Rana Conway
, I bought this not for so much so I’d know what to eat when “eating for two”, (pure myth by the way!), but for what foods to avoid. I’m a big coffee drinker and love diet coke,when I was working 12.5 hour shifts while pregnant,I really needed these- don’t judge!
This book was great for explaining things like explaining 200mg is the highest amount of caffeine I should be ingesting while pregnant- this equates to 2 filter coffees,2 instant or one Starbucks/Costa Americanos (these are what I drink). Cola diet or regular has 40mg per 330ml can,so I could have 1 or two with 1 coffee per day,as I said, don’t judge,I was also working nightshifts in a busy Major Trauma Emergency Department.
Anyway, would defiantly recommend this book as a go to, as a reference guide.
See here for more information.

image

Pregnancy For Modern Girls by Hollie Smith, I was really looking forward to reading this book,mainly because of the title, I was quickly disappointed.Yes, it is informative,but nothing that isn’t in all the other books. I couldn’t see what is so different to make it the “book for the modern girl”.

image

100,000 plus Baby Names by Bruce Lanksy, well this is what it says. I don’t think there is a name on this planet that isn’t in this book,except for mine! I had an idea of what names I liked when I was pregnant,but really enjoyed flicking through this for other ideas. I know choosing a name can be really stressful for some couples, this book gives you all the options,including what second names to put with first names.

That’s my book lot, what books did you read,enjoy,not enjoy through your pregnancy and after?
Please share. T xxx

One thought on “Pregnancy & Baby Books

  1. I didn’t get into many baby books but I quite liked ‘How not to f*** them up’ by Oliver James. However, I would take any ‘baby manual’ with a pinch of salt as we do have to find what works for our own families. Gina Ford was not my cup of tea either. You just reminded me of the ‘What to expect…’ movie which I loved. Must try and see that again now that I’m expecting another baby! 🙂

Leave a Reply

